DUI in Georgia
DWI in Georgia
In the state of Georgia, once you receive a DUI or DWI conviction, or enter a plea of guilty, the conviction remains on your driving record…. it never comes off. Once on your driving record this conviction is accessible to driver's licensing agencies nationwide. These are serious charges that bring fines, fees, lose of driving privilege, jail time, community service, ignition interlock installed on vehicle, etc. This is the time that you need a lawyer that specializes in DUI/DWI law. You need someone that is experienced and well qualified to represent you. This is not the time to wait. Contact us immediately. We can go to work for you and your rights. We will know the best way to represent you. We know the court system and the various aspects of a DUI or DWI arrest. Many factors play into the initial arrest and these can make the difference between a conviction and a dismissal of the charges. Do not wait; contact us immediately for a free consultation of your case.
In the state of Georgia, the law allows anyone with a DUI or DWI charge to be prosecuted in several ways.
In a regular DUI case, the state of Georgia must prove that the driver was unsafe due to alcohol consumption. This case can be pursued even when no blood, breath, or urine alcohol test has been administered. This will occur when the driver refuses to submit to the blood, breath or alcohol test under his rights. The driver has the right to refuse the test however; the charges will still be given. These tests are not administered at the time that the driver refuses to submit to them. The prosecution will attempt to prove the charges based on the officer's report and courtroom statement regarding your physical condition. This can included slurred speech, inability to walk, confusion, lack of safety to fellow driver's, smell of alcohol, collision, reckless driving, weaving in and out of lane, etc.
In a DUI case where blood, breath, or urine alcohol test have been administered, the proof of guilt will be shown in the test results. The unlawful alcohol level (intoxication) in the state of Georgia is 0.08% for any driver 21 and older.
The state of Georgia has in place “The Ten Day Rule”. Once charged, the state will attempt to suspend your driver's license for one to ten years. An appeal presented to courts will allow a postponement. The postponement will remain in effect under the case is presented to the State Office Administration Hearing. In the state of Georgia, the ten-day rule is in effect and enforced before any conviction if no appeal is submitted.
Under the “within 5 year period”, the judge can ignore this time frame and will review your entire driving record in order to increase the punishment and fines. In lieu of jail, time the judge may sentence probation. The conditions of the probation will be extremely restrictive. Regardless of the sentence imposed by the courts, the driver will stress, possible loss of employment, alienation from family, etc. In order to protect your rights it is very important to contact us immediately. Time is of the essence in the DUI or DWI process.
In Georgia, the fines and penalties are strict.
First DUI within a five-year period:
Fine - $300.00 to $1,000.00 plus surcharges
Jail time – 10 days to 12 months
Probation – twelve months minus jail time already served
Community Service – Minimum of 40 hours (20 hours for minors)
Driver's license suspended for one year
Alcohol awareness and education is a possibility
Reinstatement fee to reinstate your driver's license
Twelve months probation less any jail time
Fines - $600.00 to $1,000.00 plus surcharges
Jail time – 90 days to 12 months
Community Service – 30 days
Twelve months probation less any jail time
Driver's License suspended
Possible Ignition Interlock on vehicle
In the state of Georgia, once you are charged with an alcohol or drug related traffic offense, it is imperative that you contact a DUI defense attorney immediately that can properly represent you and your rights.
In Georgia, every person has the right to represent him or herself in court. However, a DUI or DWI is a serious charge and it is wise to seek professional representation. You need someone that is experienced and qualified to represent you in the court of law. You need someone that specializes in DUI/DWI laws in Georgia. Contact us immediately.