24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Florida

DWI in Florida

Unfortunately, in the state of Florida, driving under the influence (DUI) is a very common offense. You will receive a DUI/DWI charge when you are in physical control of a motor vehicle and are under the influence of alcohol or another substance that impairs your ability to operate the vehicle. The other substance is not limited to just illegal substance. Legal pharmaceutical substances can also impair your ability to operate a vehicle.

Only a qualified and experienced law firm can help in these times. Remember, if you are accused or arrested of a DUI or DWI does not mean that you are automatically guilty. We can address any concerns or questions that you may have immediately. We can personally explain the DUI laws and the process of a criminal trial. We are prepared and experienced in this area of the law and can help you to understand your personal charges.

You need the best information about your case as soon as possible. Information early in the process can make a huge difference and will help you to make the best decision about your case. We can help you with the charges and different choices that you may have available to you. These decisions can affect not only yourself but also your future and your family's future.

The state of Florida takes DUI and DWI charges very seriously. A DUI or DWI will bring civil traffic charges as well as possible felony charges. Contact us immediately so that we ensure that you will not need to go through the criminal justice system alone.

Will my driver's license be revoked and for how long?

Will my driver's license be suspended?

What are the fines in Florida for a DUI or DWI case?

What are the imprisonment times for a DUI/DWI conviction in the state of Florida?

Will I be required to perform community service?

Residential Alcoholism or Drug Abuse Treatment Program  

Abbreviations:
DUI: Driving under the influence of alcohol or substances
DWI: Driving while intoxicated
BAL: Blood alcohol level or breath alcohol level
FDHSMV: Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

 

 

Will my driver's license be revoked and for how long?  Yes
First DUI conviction: 180 days to 1 year
Second DUI conviction within 5 years: 5 years, however, you may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after 1 year.
Third DUI conviction within 10 years: 10 years, however, you may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 2 years.
Fourth DUI conviction and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Permanent revocation and you will not be eligible for a hardship revocation.
DUI Manslaughter: Permanent revocation, however, you may be eligible for hardship revocation after 5 years.
Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: 3-year revocation.

Will my driver's license be suspended?  If you are arrested for a DUI or DWI and you refused the officer's request to take a blood, breath or urine test, your driver's license will be suspended. In Florida, when someone refuses to take the blood, breath, or urine test they only have ten days to request a special hearing with The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV) to save their license. Your Florida driving privileges will be suspended for 6 to 18 months if a timely request is not submitted to the court in 10 days. 

What are the fines in Florida for a DUI or DWI case?

First DUI/DWI conviction: $250 - $500 fine

            If BAL of .20% or higher with a minor in the vehicle, $500 to $1,000 fine
Second DUI/DWI conviction: $500 to $1,000 fine
            If BAL of .20% or higher with a minor in the vehicle, $1,000 to $2,000 fine
Third DUI/DWI conviction more than 10 years: $1,000 to $2,500 fine
            If BAL of .20% or higher with a minor in the vehicle, no less than $2,000 fine
Third DUI/DWI conviction within 10 years: Up to $5,000 fine
            If BAL of .20% or higher with a minor in the vehicle, no less than $2,000 fine
Fourth or Subsequent DUI/DWI conviction: Up to $1,000 fine
            If BAL of .20% or higher with a minor in the vehicle, no less than $2,000 fine

What are the imprisonment times for a DUI/DWI conviction in the state of Florida?
First DUI/DWI conviction: Up to six months
Second DUI/DWI conviction: Up to 9 months. If second conviction is within 5 years, the mandatory imprisonment is at least 10 days.
Third DUI/DWI conviction: If third conviction is within 10 years the mandatory imprisonment is at least 30 days. This could go up to 12 months.

Will I be required to perform community service? For a first conviction of DUI or DWI community service is mandatory for 50 hours plus additional fines of $10 for each hour of community service required.

Residential Alcoholism or Drug Abuse Treatment Program  Your sentencing term in jail may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program upon the court's approval.

It is imperative that you contact an experienced and qualified drunk driving defense lawyer as soon as possible if you are arrested for DUI or DWI. Time is very important in these charges. Waiting can bring dire consequences. Let us help you today.