DUI in Delaware
DWI in Delaware
When charged with a DUI or DWI in the state of Delaware you need to be aware that a conviction will have long lasting consequences. A conviction will remain on your driving record for life and will affect your future employment opportunities. A conviction can also affect your personal freedom, stress level on the family and result in large monetary fines. The law states that a DUI has occurred when the driver is found to have a Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) which is .08% or higher.
The DUI laws in Delaware can be complex and difficult to understand. You need proper representation to ensure that your rights are protected. Only an experienced and qualified lawyer that specializes in DUI law can make a difference on the potential outcome of your case. Contact us immediately. We will go to work for you fighting your DUI or DWI charge.
The Delaware DUI Checkpoint Strikforce Program has been responsible for increased DUI checkpoints in Delaware. This has become a priority of the Delaware Office of Highway Safety. Drunk driving has become one the deadliest crimes in Delaware. Thousands of driver's operating vehicles while impaired have been stopped, arrested and removed from Delaware's roads.
If you or someone that you love has been charged with a DUI or DWI, it is urgent that a Delaware DUI defense attorney immediately. Drinking and driving are the leading causes of death in America among 17 – 24 year olds. In America, seventy people die every day from drunk driving accidents.
In Delaware Zero Tolerance is enforced. If you are arrested for DUI with a BAC of .02% or higher and under the age of 21, you will lose your driver's license automatically. If it is your first offense you lose your license for 2 months. If second offense you lose your license for 6 months. If you don't have a driver's license you can be fined between $200 and $1,000. The Zero Tolerance law also covers anyone under the age of 21 that is caught with alcohol. You will automatically lose your license and will be fined between $100 and $500.
In Delaware, if your license is revoked, you will be required to attend a Delaware DUI educational class. Your license will not be eligible for reinstatement until this class is completed. The average price of an alcohol education class is $490. In order to get your license back a fee of $144 will also need to be paid. Think about it, it is not worth driving intoxicated or under the influence. Please contact us immediately to ensure that your rights are protected and your case is well represented in court. You may have many other options available to you other than jail time, high fines and fees, etc. Let us go to work for you today.
First Time Offense:
Jail time up to 6 months
Fines between $230 and $1150
Required alcohol education class or admission to a treatment facility
Increase in automobile insurance rates or insurance canceled
Other transportation will be needed.
Time and money lost from work.
Stress on yourself and family
Possible community service
Lose of driver's license for 12 months
Possible interlock ignition devices required.
If under 21- up to one year in prison and additional fines
Be aware that if you have received another DUI, regardless of the time frame, or if it was received in another state, your charges will not be considered as a first time offense. In this situation, the fines and penalties will be significantly higher and may include increase jail time.
In Delaware, if you have had an accident that involves serious injury or death the DUI charge will become a felony. A felony on your record can prevent you from attaining certain types of employment. A felony remains on your record for life. This is a very serious charge and requires the best legal representation in court. Your best defense is having an experienced DUI lawyer working for you and your rights. Contact us immediately.