DUI in Connecticut
DWI in Connecticut
The state of Connecticut considers driving under the influence (DUI) serious and the person charged will be subject to serious fines and penalties. Driving is a privilege and can be lost with one bad decision. The state's law includes an implied consent law. This law states that anyone with driving privileges that are found to be assumed driving under the influence will concede to breath, blood, or urine testing when asked. Loss of driving privileges will be the penalty if the person rejects submission to these tests when requested by the officer.
In Connecticut the blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or higher is considered intoxicated. This is all that is necessary under the law to convict the driver of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).
Connecticut utilizes a Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment instead of serving a sentence of incarceration and/or paying fines. This allows those convicted of a DUI or DWI to have alcohol tutoring and prevention. In addition, treatment for alcohol and/or drug dependency can be required.
Any alcohol will affect a person's driving abilities. This can also be amplified by physical illness, over the counter medication, prescription medications, emotional issues, illegal drugs, etc. Any one of these listed can cause the driver to appear intoxicated and/or drive recklessly.
If convicted of a DUI or DWI in Connecticut the following fines and penalties will be imposed:
- Fine between $500 to $1,000
- Jail time of 6 months with 48 hours mandatory or 6 months suspended with 100 hours of community service.
- Driver's license suspended for one year. After which, $125 must be paid to The Department of Motor Vehicles to restore the license.
- The Substance Abuse Treatment Program (minimum of nine months required) must be completed before the driver's license will be eligible to be restored.
- Fine between $1,000 to $4,000
- Jail time 2 years, 120 days minimum mandatory
- One hundred hours of community service
- Driver's license suspension of one year followed by 24 months with an installed interlock ignition device.
- If arrest did not occur within the state of Connecticut, the suspension term will be three years.
- If the driver is under 21 years old, the suspension is three years or until 21 years of age, whichever is longer.
Third Offense (within 10 years of last conviction):
- Fine between $2,000 and $8,000
- Jail time of 3 years, 1 year minimum mandatory
- One hundred hours of community service.
- Driver's license permanently revoked. Possible reinstatement by requesting a hearing after at least 6 years from date of revocation.
Driver's license suspension is the result of a DUI or DWI in Connecticut or any other state. If the driver convicted was under 18 years old on the date of the arrest, the suspension is one year from the effective date of suspension or until the driver's 18th birthday, whichever is longer. To reinstate driver's license a check or money order must be submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles in the amount of $125. This can only be submitted after completion of the Substance Abuse Treatment Program. The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles in Connecticut must approve the program attended.