24 Hour Toll Free Help

DUI in Alaska

DWI in Alaska

Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving laws include both a court and a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) case to be initiated in the event of arrest for DUI / DWI, drunken driving.

  1. In Alaska the court case: Can include penalties that may include, jail time, fines, mandatory DUI / DWI, drunken driving education classes, ignition suppression devices and more.
  2. In Alaska the DMV case: Any in Alaska driver that submits to a chemical test of .08% or more or refuses to take the test after being arrested for DUI / DWI, drunken driving, will also be subject to a DMV case where their license may be taken away.

It is urgent that you seek an Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving defense attorney as soon as possible if you've been arrested for drunken driving, DUI or DWI. The law only allows 7 days from the date of your arrest for your Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving defense attorney to request a hearing with the Alaska DMV to save your Alaska drivers license.

Alaska DUI / DWI charges are prosecuted under the following theories:

  1. Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving charges can be based on violating Alaska's per se law. It would be a crime to drive with a Blood or Breath Alcohol Content of .08% or higher.
  2. Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving charges can be made against a person who is driving while impaired. This means that ones driving pattern, field sobriety test performance and/or chemical test results.

In Alaska if you are accused of DUI / DWI, drunken driving, you have the right to a trial to defend yourself in court. Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving convictions are misdemeanors. They may be elevated if it is a third offense.

Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving possible punishment:

  1. The First Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving conviction
    (1st offense estimated to cost $22,740.00 By the State of Alaska)

    A person's first conviction in Alaska for DUI / DWI, or drunk driving is a misdemeanor with a jail term.

    • Sentenced to no less than 72 consecutive hours in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $270.00
    • Fined not less than $1,500.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 90 days.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.
  2. The Second Alaska DUI

    A person's second conviction in Alaska for DUI / DWI, or drunk driving is a misdemeanor with a jail term.

    • Sentenced to no less than 20 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $1,000.00
    • Fined not less than $3,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 1 year.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.
  3. The third Alaska DUI

    A person's third conviction in Alaska for DUI / DWI, or drunk driving:
    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Misdemeanor with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 60 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $1,000.00
    • Fined not less than $4,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 3 years.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Felony with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 120 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment N/A
    • Fined not less than $10,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than lifetime.
    • Surcharge fee of $200.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.
  4. The fourth Alaska DUI

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Misdemeanor with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 120 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $1,000.00
    • Fined not less than $5,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 5 years.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Felony with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 240 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment N/A
    • Fined not less than $10,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than lifetime.
    • Surcharge fee of $200.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.
  5. The fifth Alaska DUI

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Misdemeanor with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 240 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $1,000.00
    • Fined not less than $6,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 5 years.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Felony with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 360 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment N/A
    • Fined not less than $10,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than lifetime.
    • Surcharge fee of $200.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.
  6. The sixth Alaska DUI

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Misdemeanor with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 360 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment $1,000.00
    • Fined not less than $7,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than 5 years.
    • Surcharge fee of $125.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.

    Alaska DUI / DWI drunken driving Felony with jail term:

    • Sentenced to no less than 360 days in jail.
    • Cost of imprisonment N/A
    • Fined not less than $10,000.00.
    • Court mandated license suspension for not less than lifetime.
    • Surcharge fee of $200.00.
    • DMV administrative license revocation. May be concurrent or consecutive to the court mandated suspension.

Under 21 Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving

If you are under 21 in the state of Alaska and charged with DUI / DWI, drunken driving you will be treated as an adult.

Additional Alaska DUI / DWI, drunk driving penalties could be an ignition interlock. This device would be attached to the vehicle and would require the driver to breath into it to test for alcohol in the body and if alcohol is detected the vehicle would not start.

Take your Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving charge seriously. Your personal future, employment and personal freedom depend on it.

Hire an experienced Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving attorney. Hiring a qualified Alaska DUI / DWI, drunken driving attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your charge.