OMVI or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence, impaired, or intoxicated was a common term used in Ohio before January 2005, but Ohio law now refers to drunken driving as OVI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated).
Drivers may be arrested in Ohio for OVI if they operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated with alcohol or drugs or a combination of the two and their mental and physical abilities are impaired. Drivers may also be arrested for OVI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher. This type of offense is termed a per se offense and a driver may be arrested regardless of whether or not their physical or mental abilities to operate a motor vehicle are impaired.
The state of Ohio considers OVI a very serious offense including 3 days to 6 months in jail, mandatory attendance in a driver intervention program, license suspension for 6 months to 3 years, license reinstatement fee and additional fines ranging from $250 to $1,000. OVI penalties become more severe for drivers who are arrested for multiple OVI offenses.
Complete the short form below and a DUI lawyer will review your case for FREE!
If you have been arrested for drunk driving you may wonder what evidence the police needs to make a drunk driving arrest and get a drunk driving conviction. Recently on our DUI forum we had a user ask, “Will the charges be dropped for my drunk driving arr...