Charged with Drunk Driving?

Get your FREE Case Evaluation Now!

DWI Assault



« Back to Glossary

Definition - What does DWI Assault mean?

DWI assault is the act of committing a serious offense or injury against another person while intoxicated. The person may commit the DWI assault either by mistake or accident while operating any type of motorized vehicle including a car, watercraft, motorcycle or aircraft. Under Texas law "serious bodily injury" is defined as creating a "substantial risk of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ". DWI assault in Texas is a third degree felony. Penalties for DWI assault may vary by state. In Texas the offender may be required to serve 2 to 10 years in a state prison and pay a fine of no more than $10,000. DWI assault is a serious offense. Contact a DUI lawyer if you have been charged with DWI assault.





« Back to Glossary



Browse DUI Terms Alphabetically:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | ALL






Do you need a DUI Attorney?

Complete the short form below and a DUI lawyer will review your case for FREE!


POPULAR TOPICS




LIKE OUR SITE? FOLLOW US?





ARTICLES
  View All
DUI Blog RSS

Texas DWI can I get it off my record?

If you are arrested for a Texas DWI you may be tempted to simply plead guilty and put the charges behind you. Unfortunately, many DWI convictions cannot be expunged, which means in the future your arrest record can be reviewed by private companies, a land...

Read More...



Attorneys: Join Our Network!


 LeadRival LP BBB Business Review


Online Marketing for Lawyers

Charged with Drunk Driving?

Learn About DUI Law. CLICK YOUR STATE to begin

DUI State Law

Find a Local DUI Lawyer and
Defend Your Rights!

FREE DUI Cas Review