How do I get my Illinois Drivers License back after DUI?
According to the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles, the first step to apply for reinstatement of your Illinois drivers license, assuming you are at your eligibility date, is to apply for a consultation with an informal hearing officer. The officer will review the driver’s record and explain all of the documents for reinstatement of your Illinois drivers license. If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Illinois contact a drunk driving lawyer who can review Illinois drunk driving laws.
Steps to Reinstate your Illinois Drivers License
After the consultation, the driver, if they are arrested for a drug or alcohol related offense, must complete the following requirements to reinstate their Illinois drivers license:
- Complete an alcohol/drug evaluation by a Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (DASA)-licensed provider within six months prior to the hearing date. The intensity and requirements of this treatment plan are categorized and vary depending on whether the driver is classified as minimal risk, moderate or significant risk or high risk.
- Complete an informal or formal hearing. Information hearings are held for drivers who have committed one single drunk driving offense or whose offense did not involve a fatality. Drivers who have multiple drunk driving offenses or who an offense involving a fatality will have a formal hearing.
Restricted Driving Permit after Drunk Driving Conviction
After an informal hearing it may be possible to have a drivers license restored for partial driving privileges. This is called a restricted driving permit or RDP. An RDP allows a driver to drive at certain times for employment, medical care, daycare, or educational purposes.
To qualify for a RDP the driver must submit evidence of employment, class scheduled and educational verification, daycare verification or evidence they are attending support or recovery groups. Not all drunk drivers convicted of DUI qualify for a restricted driving permit.
Prior to approving a restricted driving permit the driver must:
- Show proof or financial responsibility
- Pay an $8.00 fee
- Take driver’s examination if required.
Reinstatement of Illinois license after Drunk Driving Conviction
A full restoration of driving privileges after a drunk driving charge allows the driver to driver anywhere at any time without driving restrictions. Reinstatement is not done if a driver does not have a valid Illinois license or if their license has been suspended or revoked in another state.
Prior to reinstatement the driver must do the following:
- Pay the reinstatement fee.
- Provide proof of financial responsibility
- Evidence of installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) if required.
What is an Administrative License Suspension?
Drivers may lose their driving privileges following a DUI arrest if their blood alcohol content is 0.08% or higher or they refuse to take the blood alcohol test. Administrative license suspensions become effective on the 46th day from the date of the DUI arrest and are separate from charges and conviction penalties which may later result from a drunk driving conviction.
If your Illinois license has been suspended you may apply for a restricted driving permit after 30 days of suspension but this relief is only available to first-time drunk driving offenders and drivers may be required to install an ignition interlock device.
- Ignition Interlock Device for Drunk Driving Convictions in Oregon (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk Driving and Hardship License in Mississippi (duiattorneyhome.com)
- Drunk driving and a license suspension in Missouri (duiattorneyhome.com)
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- Can I be charged with DUI while riding a horse? - August 24, 2016
- Child endangerment charges for DUI arrest with child in car - August 17, 2016
- What do I do if police want to question me before a DUI arrest? - August 10, 2016