Each year serious personal injuries and deaths are caused by drivers who are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Tennessee has established driving under the influence" or DUI laws to curb alcohol abuse. Drivers who are arrested for DUI may have to pay fines, serve time in jail or attend an alcohol education class.
Whether it is your first DUI offense or your fourth, you need the help of a Tennessee DUI lawyer. DUI lawyers can answer your DUI questions and make sure you get great DUI legal assistance. Do not wait to call a Tennessee DUI attorney. Call today and we can help you fight your DUI charge.
Tennessee drivers may be arrested and charged with a DUI or driving under the influence" if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. There does not have to be evidence of impairment for a driver to be arrested if their BAC is over the legal limit.
Drivers may also be arrested for DUI if they are under the influence of drugs, alcohol or a combination of drugs or alcohol (including prescription medications) and this influence makes them unable to safely operate a motorized vehicle.
Tennessee police officers are trained to evaluate drivers, and if they see certain behaviors such as swerving, driving to slowly, driving the wrong direction or erratic driving they may have probable cause to stop a driver. Additional physical evidence may be gathered at the scene after the traffic stop by observing the driver. Common indication of intoxication can include watery eyes, the inability to walk, falling down and slurred speech. Drivers who refuse to take a breathalyzer test will have their driver's license suspended immediately suspended (in addition to any subsequent criminal DUI penalties assessed).
First DUI offense
Second DUI offense (Within 10 years)
Third DUI offense (Within 10 years)
Fourth DUI offense (Within 10 years)
Class E Felony
Hiring a Tennessee DUI Lawyer
Tennessee DUI lawyers handle cases throughout the state of Tennessee in every city including Nashville, Knoxville, Clarksville and Memphis. Tennessee lawyers understand DUI laws and can make sure drivers get a solid DUI defense. Most DUI lawyers offer a free initial consultation to review a driver's DUI charges so even if the driver is planning to plead guilty, a consultation can ensure the driver understands every facet of their DUI case.
If this is your first, second or third DUI charge, you could be facing a variety of very serious DUI penalties. Pleading guilty to a DUI charge can impact your driving record forever.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving you may wonder what evidence the police needs to make a drunk driving arrest and get a drunk driving conviction. Recently on our DUI forum we had a user ask, “Will the charges be dropped for my drunk driving arr...