In July of 2004, the Colorado legislature enacted a new law lowering the legal alcohol limit and implementing mandatory jail time for drinking and driving offenses. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while ability impaired (DWAI) blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits have been dropped from .10% to .08%.
The most serious offense is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). This charge has consequences that are extremely serious. It could mean jail time, lose of your driving privileges, and high monetary fees. Being arrested for a DUI or DWAI is not only embarrassing but also expensive. Only an experienced and qualified lawyer can protect your rights. Contact us immediately and put us to work for you. DUI enforcement
remains a very high priority among Colorado's police officers, sheriff 's deputies and state troopers. Remember, you are “innocent until proven guilty”. Only a qualified and experienced lawyer can successfully help you at this time. Contact us immediately.
If you are charged with DUI or DWAI in a crash where a person is killed you could be sentenced to a minimum of four years in prison and this could increase the prison time to twelve years. Vehicular homicide in Colorado is a Class III Felony. This conviction is added to your criminal record. Most places of employment are hesitant to hire anyone with a felony charge. Remember, you are presumed innocent until found guilt. This is the most important time to seek professional legal help. Time is very important. Our lawyers will be able to find a solution to your charges. Contact us immediately.
SERIOUS BODILY INJURY-VEHICULAR ASSAULT ~
If you are charged with a DUI or DWAI in a crash where another person is seriously injured, you could be sentenced to a minimum of two years in prison. Prison time could go up to six years.
Vehicular Assault is a Class IV felony in the state of Colorado. This conviction is added to your criminal record and will have serious consequences. Jail time, monetary fees, stress on your family, future employment issues, etc. are some of the reasons that you need to seek a professional lawyer that specializes in the Colorado DUI laws.
First DUI offense in Colorado:
• Jail time from five days to one year.
• Fined up to $1,000
• Possible alcohol education classes
• License will be suspended for one year.
• Pay $40 to reinstate your license and another $25 to obtain a new license.
• Community service of 48 to 96 hours
• Your auto insurance increased or cancelled
Second DUI offense in Colorado:
• Fined up to $1,500.
• Sentenced to 90 days to one year in jail, and a 10-day term (the minimum jail time imposed).
• Community service of 60 to 120 hours.
• Driver's license revoked for one year (with no opportunity to operate a motor vehicle)
• Reinstatement fee of $40 for your license plus $25 to obtain a new license
• Possible alcohol education classes
• Auto insurance will be cancelled.
If you are caught driving while your license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI or DWAI charge you could face a mandatory 30 days in jail.The costs of DUI in Colorado
The following items are an estimation of the cost to you if you are convicted of a DUI or DWAI.
$65.00 Cost to tow your car
$10.00 Car storage fee per day
$70.00 Bail fee (average 10% of required bond)
$300.00 Minimum fine
$60.00 Victim Assistance Fund
$60.00 Victim Compensation Fund
$90.00 Law Enforcement Assistance Fund
$150.00 Alcohol Evaluation
$30.00 Cost for chemical testing
$50.00 Probation supervision fee
$60.00 Community service supervision fee
$40.00 License reinstatement fee
$25.00 Drivers' license retesting and new license
Plus the cost of a defense lawyer.
Possible Additional Costs:
$525.00 Alcohol Education Classes
$25.00 Victim Impact Panel assessment (if ordered)
$1,600.00 Approx. Auto insurance increase per year
Remember, you are presumed innocent until found guilt. This is the most important time to seek professional legal help. Time is very important. You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a court date. One of our lawyers will know the best defense to your charges. Contact us immediately.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving you may wonder what evidence the police needs to make a drunk driving arrest and get a drunk driving conviction. Recently on our DUI forum we had a user ask, “Will the charges be dropped for my drunk driving arr...